Bet on the Triple Crown - 2014 Triple Crown - Bet Triple Crown - Triple Crown Winners

Bet Horse racing online
Where: Kentucky DerbyTriple crown trophy
When: May 2nd, 2015

Where: Preakness Stakes
When: May 16th, 2015

Where: Belmont Stakes
When: June 6th, 2015

Triple Crown immortality is horse racing's greatest honor. Countless horses have tried and only 11 have succeeded, none since 1978.

In order to win a Triple Crown, a horse must win three long races in five weeks, at three different tracks, in three different states.The Triple Crown starts with the "Run for the Roses", the Kentucky Derby, on the first Saturday of May. The Preakness follows two weeks later. The Belmont Stakes is five weeks after the Kentucky Derby in early June.

In 1930, Gallant Fox won all three important races, and sportswriter Charles Hatton brought the phrase "Triple Crown".

Triple Crown Winners

Triple Crown Winners
Year Winner Jockey Trainer Owner
1978 Affirmed Steve Cauthen Laz Barrera Harbor View Farm
1977 Seattle Slew Jean Cruguet William H. Turner, Jr. Karen L. Taylor
1973 Secretariat Ron Turcotte Lucien Laurin Meadow Stable
1948 Citation Eddie Arcaro Horace A. Jones Calumet Farm
1946 Assault Warren Mehrtens Max Hirsch King Ranch
1943 Count Fleet Johnny Longden G. Donald Cameron Fannie Hertz
1941 Whirlaway Eddie Arcaro Ben A. Jones Calumet Farm
1937 War Admiral Charley Kurtsinger George Conway Samuel D. Riddle
1935 Omaha Willie Saunders Jim Fitzsimmons Belair Stud
1930 Gallant Fox Earl Sande Jim Fitzsimmons Belair Stud
1919 Sir Barton Johnny Loftus H. Guy Bedwell J. K. L. Ross

As of 2012, the current drought of 34 years since Affirmed won in 1978, is the longest drought between Triple Crown winning horses. Since 1978, eleven horses have won both the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes. Of those, Real Quiet has come the closest to winning the Triple Crown, losing the Belmont Stakes by a nose in 1998. Charismatic led the Belmont in the final furlong in 1999 but broke his leg in the final stretch and fell back to third. The three most recent to win the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness but lose the Belmont were War Emblem in 2002, Funny Cide in 2003, Smarty Jones in 2004 and of course Big Brown in 2008. War Emblem tripped at the start of the Belmont, Funny lost the Belmont in the slop to fresh horses, and Smarty lost by only a length. In addition, several horses have won two of the three races since the last Triple Crown win, most recently Afleet Alex in 2005, who lost the Kentucky Derby but won the Preakness and Belmont.

Only one horse, Alydar, has placed (second place) in all three races. He was defeated by Affirmed in all three races in 1978 by a combined margin of two lengths. In addition, Mane Minister finished 3rd in each race in 1991, and Hawkster finished 5th in each race in 1989.

One trainer, D. Wayne Lukas, has won the Triple Crown with two different horses, Thunder Gulch and Timber Country, winning the three races in 1995. While this is not declared a Triple Crown officially, it is unique as a trainer that he is the only trainer to win the three races in a calendar year with different horses.

2006 was the first time since 2000 that three different horses won the races: Barbaro won the Kentucky Derby (but then suffered an eventually fatal injury during the Preakness), Bernardini won the Preakness, and Jazil won the Belmont Stakes. It happened again in 2007, with Street Sense winning the Kentucky Derby, Curlin winning the Preakness and the filly Rags to Riches winning the Belmont. Rags to Riches is 2006 Belmont winner Jazil's half sister. This trend has continued for the past three years with different horses winning each of the jewels in the Triple Crown. 2011 was no different even though Animal Kingdom went into the Preakness looking very strong, Shackleford took home the win in the 2011 Preakness Stakes.

Here are a list of winners for each of the Triple Crown races from 1985 to present.

Year Kentucky Derby Preakness Stakes Belmont Stakes
2011 Animal Kingdom Shackleford Ruler on Ice
2010 Super Saver Lookin at Lucky Drosselmeyer
2009 Mine That Bird Rachel Alexandra Summer Bird
2008 Big Brown Big Brown Da' Tara
2007 Street Sense Curlin Rags to Riches
2006 Barbaro Bernardini Jazil
2005 Giacomo Afleet Alex Afleet Alex
2004 Smarty Jones Smarty Jones Birdstone
2003 Funny Cide Funny Cide Empire Maker
2002 War Emblem War Emblem Sarava
2001 Monarchos Point Given Point Given
2000 Fusaichi Pegasus Red Bullet Commendable
1999 Charismatic Charismatic Lemon Drop Kid
1998 Real Quiet Real Quiet Victory Gallop
1997 Silver Charm Silver Charm Touch Gold
1996 Grindstone Louis Quatorze Editor's Note
1995 Thunder Gulch Timber Country Thunder Gulch
1994 Go for Gin Tabasco Cat Tabasco Cat
1993 Sea Hero Prairie Bayou Colonial Affair
1992 Lil E. Tee Pine Bluff A.P. Indy
1991 Strike the Gold Hansel Hansel
1990 Unbridled Summer Squall Go And Go
1989 Sunday Silence Sunday Silence Easy Goer
1988 Winning Colors Risen Star Risen Star
1987 Alysheba Alysheba Bet Twice
1986 Ferdinand Snow Chief Danzig Connection
1985 Spend A Buck Tank's Prospect Creme Fraiche

Horse Betting Promotions

Race of the Day

Go Horse Betting is giving you the chance to double your winnings on a horse racing wager every day with our "Race of the Day".

Place a 'To Win' wager on a horse with 3:1 or greater odds and we will double your winnings up to $25. Ready to win double? Then, visit the Racebook on race day to place your bet.

Race of the Week

Featured Race: Rainbow Stakes
Day: Sunday, March 29th, 2015
Purse: $75,000
Distance:6 Furlongs
Age: 3 Year Olds

Place a 'To Win' wager on a horse with 2:1 or greater odds in the highlighted race and we will double your winnings if that horse wins. Ready to win double? Then, visit the Racebook on race day to place your bet.

10% Deposit Bonus every Thursday!

Get 10% free cash awarded to all your deposits every Thursday at Go Horse Betting. We just give you free cash, when you want it.

Casino 10% Cash Back Bonus Each Month

Bet With Confidence at Go Horse Betting casino,each month our loyal members get up to $250 in free cash monthly!. More details..

8% Horse Betting Rebate

A rebate of 8% will be paid on all wagers on a daily basis. 8% Horse Rebate - It doesn't matter if you win or lose, here at Go Horse Betting we will credit you a 8% rebate on Exotics every day based on how much you wager. What are you waiting for, play today and also receive your 3% rebate for all Win, Place and show wagers; after all, there is nothing better than a sure thing!